top of page

The interview

Today, we have one of our shout out speaker who wants to remain anonymous sharing his/her experience as a shout out speaker and his/her amazing moments being part of wonderful moments with other speakers.

 

Q: The best of part of being a shout out speaker in the program?

A: Best part about being in the shout out speaker role is that I get to hear stories from such inspiration and influential young people. Stories which I did not have the opportunity to hear otherwise. I feel extremely privilege but at the same time disappointed that other people do not get this same opportunity to do so.

This is what the shout out project does, it allows a platform for people to talk about their stories and their lives in Australia. Peoples’ voices and stories are often not heard especially with so many dominant media sources which overlook them.

Q: Your favourite moment of another shout out speaker?

A: I remember when we were training for shout out there was another shout out speaker who presented her story to us. She was telling her story and it was so emotional that the atmosphere of the room was remarkable.

There were a few people that were weeping with tears and you can even tell that I am not that kind of person that likes to cry but I was getting emotional and that was a very resonating factor like even though have such varied stories and different stories, we experience similar struggles in terms of racism and other sorts of issues when we came here.

This shout out program not only gives us this opportunity to share this experiences but allows us to bond as a refugee and immigrant population that we would have never had.

Q: Could you tell us more about the training you guys were involved in?

A: We were given two weekends of training of how to be a better public speaker, how to articulate words better, how to write speeches better and overcome anxiety while being a professional when it comes to delivering a speech. It has been a wonderful and really useful not only in my shout out experience but in my university experience when I am doing a presentation or interpersonal interactions when talking to people.

Q: How about your favourite organisation that you spoke in front of?

A: I remember I spoke in front of a meeting full of teachers. It was

actually a conference for all teachers to come. I think teachers are singled handled the biggest influence on a young person’s life. Cause there are your other mother or father.

I was speaking to a conference of teachers and I was telling them about my experience of bad teachers and also good teachers. A lot of them came up after the speech I did and they were very thankful that I shared my experience cause they said they were going to go about their teaching lives in a different way because of what they heard. The fact that I can make that small impact meant so much to me.

Q: Do you have any other advice for people who are interested in speaking for shout out?

A: Shout out is a great opportunity it gets migrant and refugee background voices out. Whatever we can do to enhance this is great. I would just say get on board and get your voices out.

bottom of page